Characters Need to be Human

After a while, the characters I’m writing begin to feel real to me. That’s when I know I’m heading in the right direction. – Alice Hoffman

Myers-Briggs Personality types are not the only way to discover a character’s personality. Another personality typing system is Enneagrams. This one is not quite as well known and is in some ways harder to use.

However, when one is trying to figure out a character and having no luck at it, it might be time to try a new way of figuring out the character’s personality.

This is when Enneagrams come in handy.

So today, I am going to explain what the Enneagram system is and then over the next few weeks I will post about each one separately.

There are only nine different types with Enneagrams, that does make it easier in a way. Each of the nine types is associated with a different fear. It is this that makes it so much harder for people to use.

We, humans, don’t like hearing about our fears. That is what makes the Enneagram personality test such a good one to test out on one’s characters. It allows you to learn more about what makes them who they are. And knowing the character’s fears is a good step in that direction.

Anyways, I should explain how the Enneagram personality theory works. So there are nine different personalities that one can have, and each of those personalities has a ‘wing’ with one of the other personalities.

Each of the nine personality types is assigned a number from 1 to 9. Each of these personality types has its own strengths and weaknesses, and each has its own ‘nickname’ to make it easier to remember how that personality type acts.

Type 1 is called the Reformer because they want to make everything better.

Type 2 is called the Helper because they want to help everyone.

Type 3 is called the Achiever because they like to accomplish things.

Type 4 is called the Individualist because they are dramatic and self-interested.

Type 5 is called the Investigator because they like to learn new things.

Type 6 is called the Loyalist because once they trust you they trust you completely.

Type 7 is called the Enthusiast because they find fun in everything.

Type 8 is called the Challenger because they like to be in command of the situation.

Type 9 is called the Peacemaker because they make sure that the other eight types don’t fight too much.

Then there is the wing. The wing is basically your secondary personality type that ends up building on the your primary personality type. The wing can be the number on either side of the number that is your primary number. So if your personality was a type 4, then your wing could be either a type 3 or a type 5.

As well as the wing there are the numbers that you act more like when you are stressed or doing well, ‘growth’. For example type 9 acts like type 6 in stress and type 3 in growth. I will share more about that in the posts on the individual types.

So those are the nine personality types according to the Enneagram theory. Over the next few weeks, I am going to go more into detail into each of them. If you are interested in learning what your own Enneagram type is this is the test that I have used: Enneagram test. It is free and has seemed fairly accurate.

16 thoughts on “Characters Need to be Human

  1. Pingback: Enneagram Type 1 – The Reformer | A.M. Molvik's Ramblings

  2. Pingback: Enneagram Type 2 – The Helper | A.M. Molvik's Ramblings

  3. Pingback: Enneagram Type 3 – The Achiever | A.M. Molvik's Ramblings

  4. Pingback: Enneagram Type 4 – The Individualist | A.M. Molvik's Ramblings

  5. Pingback: Enneagram Type 5 – The Observer | A.M. Molvik's Ramblings

  6. Pingback: Enneagram Type 6 – The Loyalist | A.M. Molvik's Ramblings

  7. Pingback: Enneagram Type 7 – The Enthusiast | A.M. Molvik's Ramblings

  8. Pingback: Enneagram Type 8 – The Challenger | A.M. Molvik's Ramblings

  9. Pingback: Enneagram Type 9 – The Peacemaker | A.M. Molvik's Ramblings

  10. Pingback: Humans Are Unique | A.M. Molvik's Ramblings

  11. Pingback: Enneagram Types as Mythical Creatures | A.M. Molvik's Ramblings

  12. Pingback: Pride and Prejudice Enneagram Types | A.M. Molvik's Ramblings

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.